Share it with friends

California Dreamin’

Pigeon Point Lighthouse

Pigeon Point Lighthouse near Half Moon Bay

You can probably tell by the last few posts that my mind is several hundred miles from the Arizona desert. In particular I am thinking today of our trip to the northern coast of California that we took a couple of years ago. I can remember this day like it was yesterday. It was so cool that I had to wear a sweatshirt. In August!

I am thinking that two years is way too much time in between trips so…I’m lobbying for something up the Oregon coast. I read once about a guided tour hunting for fossils along a beach somewhere. Doesn’t that sound like fun?

Do you know how some days you’re the windshield and others you’re the bug? Well, today I felt like the bug. I don’t know how fast the car that hit me was going, but they were definitely breaking the speed limit. SPLAT! That’s how my day went. As if that wasn’t bad enough, someone kept smacking me with the windshield wipers! But, tomorrow is another day, and thinking back to this trip makes me feel better.

A few observations I made today:

  1. It must be an election year. Everyone thinks they have something important to say (or know someone who does) and is convinced I want to hear it.
  2. When Neil Armstrong got frustrated because something didn’t work, did he say “They can send me to the moon, but they can’t make this simple thing work”?
  3. It must be an election year because I’m starting to hear all the same promises I heard 4 years ago.
  4. If something gets ruined in the wash it will be your favorite pair of shorts.
  5. If it only rains for 5 minutes a day it will be when you walk from your car to the office. And forgot your umbrella.
  6. A bad day on the water is better than a good day at work.
  7. It must be an election year.
9 responses

  1. I certainly hope tomorrow is better for you. Sorry to hear that you were in an accident. Hopefully the injury was to your vehicle only and not you.

    Now sit back and enjoy the gorgeous photo you posted. It’s lovely!

    August 30, 2012 at 12:45 AM

  2. ha yeah its an election year alright…smiles….i hope today is a better day….love the pic, there is a nice palette of color in that hill side….fossil hunting sounds like an awesome trip

    August 30, 2012 at 3:32 AM

  3. So the day was like being shot at and missed and — uh, you know the rest, eh? I know the feeling, but look on the bright side. You could be living in Texas in an election year!

    August 30, 2012 at 3:58 AM

  4. Even though I get most of my business from elected officials, government agencies, and wanna-be politicians, there’s nothing I hate more than election season. It truly brings out the worst in people and the worst people. Go to Oregon, go fossil hunting…yea that sounds great! I love the photo!!

    August 30, 2012 at 9:49 AM

  5. Love your title πŸ™‚
    Isn’t it great to get away from the heat for awhile? Love this light house.

    August 30, 2012 at 1:55 PM

  6. Rohrerbot

    Sorry about your bad day. Maybe that lighthouse is a call for help!! You are trying to find land after a long boat ride out to sea.

    But seriously, Oregon does sound like a lovely trip. Just remember that no matter how bad(or hot) the day gets, there is always something good in it. We just have to look for it.

    As for election year!!! Bladddy bladdy dittity blah. I’m not going there:) Because blogging is about birds, lighthouses, snow cones, and everything nice:) And sometimes cats but I digress…..

    And so I did:) I think a trip is what you need right now. 3 day is coming up and maybe a road trip is just what you need:) Feel better, this heat gets us all down. I think it will never end….and then, it does:) My mind is on Patagonia, Argentina right now. To deal with my heat depression, I’m researching for our trip next summer. Sending positive power vibes your way!

    August 30, 2012 at 7:25 PM

  7. Magpie

    Good words from Chris. Hey, I’m not going to dinner tomorrow evening. Are you free for lunch tomorrow? (Friday) Let me know if you can break away. I’m free whenever you are. Sorry to hear that it was a bad day. You’re right, they happen to all of us sometimes and we just need a Smoothie to move on and feel better about life. Well that or a couple new books. πŸ™‚

    August 30, 2012 at 9:24 PM

  8. Magpie

    Oh, yea! Sign me up for that Oregon trip. I’m there!!!

    August 30, 2012 at 9:24 PM

  9. Very cool shot!

    August 31, 2012 at 8:14 PM