Share it with friends

Helpless

Boy, it’s been a tough year for the birdies around my place. About a month or so ago there was a family of Say’s Phoebes hanging around. The three babies had either fallen or been kicked out of the nest. The Mama stayed close to them in the yard, and they tried to fly but kind of just fluttered about 3 feet into the air and then fell back to the ground. One day I went outside and found that one had fallen into the pool and drowned. 😦 There was another on the patio that could barely stand. Obviously it wasn’t going to last long.

Then a couple of weekends ago I pulled into the driveway and saw a dove scurrying away from the side of the house under the Ficus tree. When I got out of the car I spotted this baby. I suspect it’s nest had been knocked down by the strong winds we had the day before (dust storm-yuck). Later that evening we had strong winds once again. I went out to check on it and found it scampering underneath a hedge for shelter, and that was the last time I ever saw it. At least it knew enough to protect itself. I hope it made it.

I really, really wanted to save all the baby birdies I saw in distress, but I am always torn between trying to help and letting natural things take their course. Sometimes nature is marvelous to watch. Other times it’s just heartbreaking.

7 responses

  1. I agree, I’m aways torn between helping a little creature or walking away. Great photo!

    August 11, 2012 at 5:07 AM

  2. I’m with you and Steve on this one. Nice shot.

    August 11, 2012 at 9:09 AM

  3. Magpie

    All babies are so vulnerable. If I have to be a baby bird, I would want to be a mocking bird because those moms and dads are very aggressive while protecting their young. Call me when you have a few minutes. πŸ™‚

    August 11, 2012 at 9:24 AM

  4. Oh so sorry. I know…I’ve got a bleeding heart as well. I have to call the world nature center which consists of 3 places. One being the Desert Museum or Audobon. They tell me to grow a pair and let nature do her work. Of course, they are nice about it, but that’s the message. It’s still hard to watch. So I play little games inside my mind. If I don’t see it then it means life is good and everyone lived happily ever after. Those poor little Phoebes:( Adorable birds, aren’t they?

    So…speaking of nature. I went on a very cheap hike today in Tucson…the best kind because it was free:) and saw a baby coyote. What an adorable pup! Yes, I did take pics. I just wanted to run across the grass and pet the little guy but the bugs were nasty. Not that I would do any of that stuff….but I thought it:) It was creepy. I was alone on this trail in the middle of the desert. Lots of amazing critters, but I thought I was either going to be killed a. by a mountain lion stalking me or b. a human murderer. I hate that I have to survey my surroundings for stupid bad people all the time. We have such amazing places here that it’s sad when they’re tainted by bad people hiding in the pockets of shade. Anyhow, coyotes, hawks, butterflies galore, and lots and lots of birds! Pretty ones:) Have a good Sunday!

    August 12, 2012 at 1:30 AM

  5. yeah guess i should not tell you what we found upon returning from vacation…nice welcome home gift from our cats….did write about it…havent shared it yet…smiles….we may save it today but nature will take its course…smiles

    August 12, 2012 at 6:38 PM

  6. Yep, you and Magie were communicating telepathically today! Or was it yesterday?

    August 13, 2012 at 5:05 PM

  7. OH, I hear ya! So hard not to jump in and assist! Breaks my heart to see them so helpless.

    August 20, 2012 at 7:26 PM