Share it with friends

Another Saturday Night

You can always tell when it’s summer by my blog. Unlike some adventurous and hearty souls (I’m talking about you, Chris) I tend to stay indoors as much as I can and avoid the desert heat and sun. That’s why you will see so many posts from my archives or recent trips to the coast. I am wallowing deep in the Dog Days mentality now, but only a few short months and it will be Fall, and then I will have absolutely no excuse for not getting up off my arse and getting out. (But I’m sure I’ll come up with something! Isn’t that sad?)

Saturday night, the husband and I had a “date night”. This is a big deal for us. We both had grown tired sitting around the house watching the Michael Phelps show on TV, and I heard that one of my favorite local businesses, Ground Control, was having a party. They are moving to a bigger location in Litchfield Park and were closing the Goodyear doors for good (not just a good year ha!).

Ground Control is so cute. It can’t decide if it’s a coffee joint or a pub, but it is precisely that combination that makes it so eclectic. You can get a good cup of coffee, a nice red zin or a hoity toity 30 year old scotch if that is your poison. It’s also nice to have a place the West Valley can call its own. We have mostly chain restaurants from which to choose. Yuck. And boring.

Even better – we got to hear some live jazz. Booyeah! (They came all the way from NEW YORK CITY.)

Thanks, Sean, for bringing some class to the SW Valley. We’re looking forward to seeing you in a couple of weeks when the new place opens.

8 responses

  1. I’ll be coming to drag your butt out the door in October!

    August 6, 2012 at 3:27 AM

  2. very cool…sounds like a fun place…an a date night, those are hugely important…glad you had fun…jazz would def do it for me….

    August 6, 2012 at 4:29 AM

  3. Sounds like my kind of place! Great photos! iphone?

    August 6, 2012 at 4:44 AM

  4. Magpie

    Love the look of these pics. Looks like you had a fun time and JAZZ – bonus!

    August 6, 2012 at 9:01 AM

  5. Looks like a great place.

    August 6, 2012 at 6:44 PM

  6. LOL!!! Now look, I feel exactly like you. Today I began work and could barely move furniture around in the classroom. I don’t even know where I’m going to get my energy this Thursday when all the rugrats start their first day. I am exhausted. And I don’t know about you, but I am out of shape. I am looking at winter pics from earlier this year and I truly miss those special hikes. You’ll have to come down for the Whitewater Draw in January! You both would have so much fun. We have a ways to go….for now I stay in the shade like you do:) And believe it or not, some days I don’t even shower or leave the couch because of depression. I. HATE. THIS. HEAT! The only thing that motivates me are the birders who get excited and say, “Oh oh….there’s a __________(fill in the blank with exotic bird name that usually has a brown color to it:) and they rarely ever show up here.” So I grab my keys, jump in my care for that Rare Bird Alert and go! But now because I have zero dinero, I am focusing on plants/wildlife in Tucson for a September release.

    Your pics today are exactly how we feel…..and you really capture the mood. I hear thunder outside my place….I’m only hoping it’s more rain because I hate watering plants:) Glad you got some rain last night:)

    August 6, 2012 at 9:22 PM

  7. ha i will see what i can do on auto correct for you…smiles…

    August 9, 2012 at 1:46 PM

  8. Seems like a great idea for a Saturday night and you might even have a Blueberry Muffin. LOL MB

    August 9, 2012 at 1:50 PM