Share it with friends

About Last Night

Or rather about Saturday night and the photo I posted yesterday… There are a few things I didn’t tell you:

  • This was the eastern sky, not the western sky, so it was not the sunset we were looking at.
  • It was a rainbow, but you can’t really tell because it was taken with my iPhone. Had I had a better lens available you could see it more clearly. When I saw it out the window I grabbed the closest thing to me. That’s one reason why there is so much noise in the photo and in the one below. I thought I didn’t have my zoom lens on my Nikon, but today I realized I had changed it last week. Would have been a much better picture – Doh!
  • It was taken by my friend, Chris, who is taller than I am (most people are) while peering over my back wall. That is the Goodyear Farms Cemetery. Our neighbors are very quiet most of the time. 🙂

A moment later we marveled at the cloud next to it. It looked like a tiny funnel cloud. Then it turned pink as well. Maybe it was a double rainbow?

I didn’t post either one of these photos because I thought they were good as much as to share the awesome sky. The skies are not so pretty tonight. As I type right now we are getting yet ANOTHER dust storm. My husband just said “I can’t imagine we won’t get any rain tonight” which is usually the kiss of death. Argh!

UPDATEI have been requested to make a public apology to a certain male figure in my house due to that piddly little event following the dust storm called a rain shower. If I were Mother Nature I would be embarrassed to even call it “rain”, but there you have it.

5 responses

  1. see this one is scarier to me…or my over active imagination—the pink laser from the heavens…oh my…haha…ok i may have had too much coffee this morning…smiles…

    July 30, 2012 at 6:37 AM

  2. Amazing, it’s like a light show coming from the cemetery!

    July 30, 2012 at 7:21 AM

  3. Magpie

    Yes, we did get rain! It was a nice shower out our way. Wish it would have gone on all night long. Hope you had a great time with your friends!

    July 30, 2012 at 8:59 AM

  4. I saw that the rain made it up your way and I’m glad some of you got it:) It’s always good to remain optimistic. Although today isn’t looking to promising, I still hope for some great lightening shots:) Yesterday it was just a wet rainy even all day here. Now it’s just hot and muggy. But what was cute about yesterday were the baby hummers flying around in the rains. They were goofing around up in the trees. They were the siblings that came from our nest here. Cute little birds during some nice cool and wet weather.

    July 30, 2012 at 1:48 PM

  5. So very cool.

    July 30, 2012 at 7:26 PM