Share it with friends

California Crested Cactus

I am back from a bittersweet trip to the midwest. It was filled with a wedding, 2 high school graduations and many reminders of the family and friends I still have there. I came back with very few photos that would interest you – most of them are of people you don’t know so I thought I would post this picture of a small crested cactus that I spotted while walking along the canals of Venice, CA. I first posted about crested cacti awhile ago so you can imagine my delight when I happened across this one.

Sometimes you can find the best things when you aren’t looking for them. I’m pretty sure that’s a lesson in Zen I just wrote. πŸ™‚

9 responses

  1. Now I know who to credit when I pass on that proverb! Glad you had a little vakay. I had been wondering re your whereabouts.

    May 23, 2012 at 2:38 AM

  2. Odd looking plant for sure, I would definitely plant one in my yard. I have a love for the out-of-the-ordinary plants. We had a Banana Magnolia tree in our last house that was awesome. Most everyone who saw it would ask about it. Then one day we visited South Carolina and they were all over the place!

    May 23, 2012 at 4:11 AM

  3. Nat

    Very unusual plant.. and wise words πŸ™‚ Glad it was a good trip…

    May 23, 2012 at 4:15 AM

  4. I love the crested cacti. Very cool shot. I didn’t know you were from the midwest area!!! I’m heading back there as well…..hopefully soon. I need my green before the summer sets in here. It’s HOT! It sounds like it was a busy but fun time. When I go home, I realize how much I miss everyone and how overwhelming it is to have a billion family members around. Then I come back to home here and I miss their annoying personalities:) It takes me a week to adjust and another week back to get over missing them:) Glad you’re home.

    May 23, 2012 at 6:36 AM

  5. Magpie

    I’m really glad you’re home…I missed my buddy. I know it was important to spend time with family and friends though. See you for lunch!

    May 23, 2012 at 7:21 AM

  6. That is gorgeous.

    May 23, 2012 at 7:52 PM

  7. How nice that you attended two high school graduations and a wedding. It is sad to live so far away from loved ones and miss out on the everyday happenings. Very cool looking California crested cactus with ivy!

    May 25, 2012 at 11:05 AM

  8. that just looks kinda alien you know…all those rolls…cool though….you have been busy…smiles…great to have you back!

    May 25, 2012 at 2:27 PM

  9. This is gorgeous. Nature is so beautiful. Even a thorny plant is awesome.

    June 3, 2012 at 12:09 AM