Share it with friends

Spring in the Desert

Spring in the desert is always an amazing time of year. My backyard this year has been the host of several Say’s Phoebes. I think they were originally looking to nest in the light fixture of the fan on my patio. I can hear their distinctive calls all day long.

Out at Magpie’s the other day I feasted on the spring bounty that was happening in her yard and practiced some iPhonography.

Finch eggs.

A cactus bloom.


The saguaro and ocotillo that I love visiting this time of year.

Today is rare cloudy day in the desert. We even had a bit of rain this morning. I am trying to remember to enjoy each and every moment because it is a gift, and once it’s gone is gone forever.

7 responses

  1. The little Say’s Phoebes are adorable, I love all of the spring colors you found at Magpie’s and I’m glad you got some rain!

    April 26, 2012 at 11:19 AM

  2. Deep thoughts today. Lovely pictures…..and I love your Say’s Phoebes. Adorable. Enjoy the rain….we just have clouds today:(

    April 26, 2012 at 11:33 AM

  3. Magpie

    Did Chris just say he “loved” your Says Phoebe??? He is a confirmed Phoebe neutral kinda guy. I won’t say he hates them…that’s a pretty strong word. He just doesn’t see everyone’s fascination with them. πŸ™‚ I love the shots of the eggs and cactus. They turned out neat.

    April 26, 2012 at 7:32 PM

  4. Nice series. I love the nest shot.

    April 26, 2012 at 8:04 PM

  5. And you’re a nature photographer too!

    April 27, 2012 at 2:50 AM

  6. i love it because it is so much different than ours…the perspective on the saguaro and ocotillo is really cool….have a great weekend!

    April 27, 2012 at 8:45 AM

  7. MB

    Birds, I love ’em all. Sweet and purty eggs. Yes Rain is a gift and that is why we are called The Evergreen State. MB

    April 27, 2012 at 10:14 AM