Share it with friends

Waves

The folk who live in the waves call out to me-
“We sing from morning till night; on and on we travel and know
not where we pass.”
I ask, “But how am I to join you?”
They tell me, “Come to the edge of the shore and stand with
your eyes tight shut, and you will be carried out upon the waves.”
I say, “My mother always wants me at home in the everything-
how can I leave her and go?”
They smile, dance and pass by.
But I know a better game than that.
I will be the waves and you will be a strange shore.
I shall roll on and on and on, and break upon your lap with
laughter.
And no one in the world will know where we both are.

~ Rabindranath Tagore from the poem “Clouds and Waves”

9 responses

  1. Great poem, I love the line “I will be the waves and you will be the strange shore.” and your photo, excellent ! Perfect illustration to go with the poem.

    April 6, 2012 at 4:44 AM

  2. Great poem to illustrate this photo.

    April 6, 2012 at 5:31 AM

  3. Oh yeah, “I will be the waves and you will be a strange shore” is great line and I love the special effect on your image!

    April 6, 2012 at 6:29 AM

  4. great shot! i like the texture too…and i would so love to be at the beach or on the waves….happy easter to you as well…smiles….

    April 6, 2012 at 9:17 AM

  5. Oh wow, I love this photo! Great job!

    April 6, 2012 at 10:52 AM

  6. Very cool shot.

    April 6, 2012 at 6:04 PM

  7. Magpie

    What a great effect on this one, Trace. I love it. It has a metal look to it. Thanks again for a great day and I’m glad I could be there for your first pedicure. No one should go through that alone. 🙂

    April 6, 2012 at 7:23 PM

  8. Another great shot Tracy. I like what you do with your pictures and the thoughts they evoke from the stance of the person. NIce work.

    April 9, 2012 at 1:56 PM

  9. Love the treatment you did on this photo!

    April 15, 2012 at 8:09 PM