Share it with friends

The Bird Whisperer

(Yesterday, Magpie and I went to the Tres Rios Nature Festival at Estrella Mountain Park. We attended a lecture by a wildlife photographer who took WAAAY too many  pictures of snakes and saw some cool varmints.)

"Don't pat my head. Don't pat my head. I SAID, 'Don't. Pat. My. Head.'"

"Nice beak."

"If I just had a bobby pin I could break outta this joint."

"Why, oh why, can't I?"

"Excuse me, but could you kindly get that one dimensional owl off my back?"

"WHO are you looking at?"

"Oh, boy! Live rabbits!"

Oh, REALLY? (Relax. It was only sleeping.)

14 responses

  1. I’m so jealous! Love your captions on all these too. But, what, no beaded ostrich? Oh, that’s right, I got the last one because they’re now extinct! I’m surprised you didn’t stay in the car when you found out there might be pictures of snakes.

    March 12, 2012 at 3:38 AM

  2. stevegravano.blogspot.com

    Beautiful hawk photos. So… I gather your not a big fan of snakes….

    March 12, 2012 at 3:47 AM

  3. Really great shots… love the bunny shot at the end! =)

    March 12, 2012 at 6:53 AM

  4. Nat

    Haha! Beautiful photos and love the funny captions 🙂

    March 12, 2012 at 6:57 AM

  5. Anonymous

    What a fun post! Loved the live rabbits exhibit! HAHA! xxoo

    March 12, 2012 at 8:06 AM

  6. Anonymous

    This must have been so much fun! I would have loved it.

    March 12, 2012 at 8:23 AM

  7. You got some fantastice bird shots here!

    March 12, 2012 at 8:41 AM

  8. these birds are just magnificent, love their look…and the owl is still my fav….what a treat to see….

    March 12, 2012 at 9:55 AM

  9. Ohhh……I almost went to this event. Now I wish I did!!! I could’ve met you guys. This looked like a lot of fun but I had to go on my wildflower shoot. Saturday I just did absolutely NADA!!! I locked my doors and slept in until almost noon and did nada for the first time in months. Sunday, we went on a 4 hour hike up a peak and accomplished my mission. Laundry did NOT get done. Love your bird shots….especially the owls:)

    March 12, 2012 at 10:16 AM

  10. That would have been interesting to attend. I love those big birds! Thank you for not sharing any images of snakes….

    March 12, 2012 at 6:28 PM

  11. Nothing like a bunnies butt to start the week.

    March 12, 2012 at 7:08 PM

  12. Magpie

    Every time I see that rabbit, my heart still skips a beat. It really did look dead. We had a good time, didn’t we?

    March 12, 2012 at 10:49 PM

  13. It’s wonderful to get a close look at those birds!

    March 13, 2012 at 8:53 AM

  14. Thank you for including my nephew, Landon, in your prayers… very much appreciated! =)

    March 16, 2012 at 7:48 AM