Share it with friends

What Planet Are We On?

That’s the question Magpie and I were asking ourselves as we happened upon this rock formation the other day plopped smacked dab in the middle of the desert.

Of course, we knew what planet we were on … the planet of Arizona. (We went to public school). 🙂

We spent quite a bit of time exploring this strange and wonderful landscape (and avoiding the dreaded stick snake).

Sadly, some people failed to appreciate the natural beauty and mistook it for a landfill, but at least they positioned the chair so they could admire the sunset.

(I got an iMac about a month ago, and I love love LOVE it! I’ve especially had a lot of fun trying some of the many photography apps that are available.  I was already familiar with a few of them , like Snapseed (my favorite) and Camera Bag. Another really nice low-cost app that is great for removing unwanted objects from images is Snapheal. However, It seems that while all of them do some really great things none of them are as complete as the Photoshop Elements program I had on my windows machine. Now I am wondering if I should give Aperture a try. Do any of you folks out there use Aperture?)

10 responses

  1. I’m impressed that you got THAT CLOSE to a snake!

    February 26, 2012 at 4:25 AM

  2. I love these. I could have done without the snake. I love the desert but loathe snakes.

    February 26, 2012 at 9:05 AM

  3. Beautiful scenery! xxoo

    February 26, 2012 at 9:45 AM

  4. Magpie

    Tracy, I think people are fooled by the Stick Snake. It does look very real. We did have a wonderful time that day and have the red dirt on our shoes to prove it. Great catch on the chair too!

    February 26, 2012 at 10:12 AM

  5. Ohhhhh girrrrlllll! No way! Knock on wood knock on rock knock on car door window…whatever! I have been VERY lucky to have not spotted a snake so far in my hiking this year. DISLIKE! I mean…they’re cool and all, but not while I’m on the hot pursuit of a bird and I’m in the bushes and one jumps out. I’d have a heart attack. Lizards okay. Snakes are starting to wake up and I’m now opening my eyes around me because I’ve heard of several sightings this year already! And did you sit in that chair? I wonder what’s living inside of it?:) Lovely shots:) And while I get the heebie jeebies….cool far away capture of the snake:)

    February 26, 2012 at 11:20 AM

  6. You certainly found some gorgeous red dirt! I love all the textures/erosion in the third image. Were these taken on the west side?

    February 26, 2012 at 9:54 PM

  7. maybe the chair is there so they can sit and take in all the beauty…rather looks like mars…you might have discovered new life…i like the texture and color of the landscape…sculpted by the wind and rain…

    February 28, 2012 at 8:48 AM

  8. hey, i am a photographic numbskull personally, but…that last pic of the chair…do you have any gritty overlays you can put on it…and send me so i can write about it?

    February 29, 2012 at 9:28 AM

  9. Holy Moly! I love the colors and textures you found! As far as photo editing, I only know how to use Photoshop, but I like the cool effects that I see people using with other programs.

    February 29, 2012 at 10:08 AM

  10. Great shots. I use Aperture (haven’t learned Photoshop) and have added Topaz and Nik software plug-ins. Aperture is great but I’m sure not robust like Photoshop. Now I gotta go and check-out Snapheal! Crazy!

    February 29, 2012 at 7:19 PM