Share it with friends

Don’t It Make My Gray Skies Blue

Yesterday Magpie and I spent the afternoon at a chili cook off in the Estrella foothills. It was a quintessential Arizona winter day. It started off cool, gray and cloudy. We even dared to think it might rain (silly girls)! Not long after we arrived the clouds gave way to the brilliant blue Arizona sky, and by the time we left about 3 1/2 hours later you could barely hear the Bluegrass band over the wind blowing through their mics.

On a day like that, there were no losers – but there was definitely one BIG winner…

11 responses

  1. Looks like you had a super fun day! That first photo is gorgeous! Happy Sunday! xxoo

    January 22, 2012 at 10:54 AM

  2. A nice hot bowl of chili would be nice right now!

    January 22, 2012 at 10:58 AM

  3. Those are the best days!!! I always have to wear layered clothes. Yesterday I went for a hike in the cold and then by afternoon, off came the jacket. I am going to make soup today:) Thanks for the idea.

    January 22, 2012 at 11:06 AM

  4. MB

    Did you try the Buzzard’s Breath chili? It does look like you had a great time. I do so like Bluegrass. MB

    January 22, 2012 at 12:33 PM

  5. MB

    Haha about ‘cold Macronie’ and btw I don’t want to smell any buzzard breath. eweeeeee. MB

    January 22, 2012 at 3:01 PM

  6. Ramblin' Kathy

    Great name for a chili recipe. Wish I had thought of it!

    January 22, 2012 at 9:46 PM

  7. Magpie

    I tried the Buzzard’s Breath and liked it. It was my pick for People’s Choice. It was a fantastic day and the company made it all that much better. 🙂 I didn’t know I liked Bluegrass as much as I do.

    January 23, 2012 at 7:30 AM

  8. Your first picture is so mesmerizing with the blue water and sky and lavender cloud above the purple mountain!

    January 23, 2012 at 12:53 PM

  9. nice…love me some good chili…and the entertain sounds like it was nice as well…ha what a fun name too…

    January 23, 2012 at 5:54 PM

  10. Bet that was fun. I love that area with it’s great mountain views.

    January 23, 2012 at 8:34 PM

  11. What a gorgeous scene in that top photo. A nice bowl of chili sounds good right about now.

    January 24, 2012 at 2:53 PM