Share it with friends

Shaken Not Stirred

“The cause of being shaken seems to be outside, but it is always inside you, and its solution is inside you as well.”

I didn’t make any New Year’s resolutions this year, but I did make a promise to myself to try to look inward rather than outward in the coming months. My birthday falls within two weeks of the New Year, and it seemed like an especially good time to look back and make sure I was learning the correct lessons life has sought to teach me.

My forties were spent trying to deal with some of the biggest changes in my life since I had gotten married – mostly spent fighting those changes now that I look back on it. There is something about your fifties that makes it seem important, if not downright urgent,  to understand these things. And so I have spent the first two weeks of this year reading some books on Taoism, Buddhism and trying to channel my inner Zen.

The above quotation, which came to me through a wonderful little iPhone app called “Tao Way of Life“, has become my mantra. Or I guess, to put it another way as I read somewhere the other day, “Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it”.

You know how there are some people who just let things roll off their backs and go with the flow? Well, I’ve never been one of them, and I may never be.

But I’m trying.

10 responses

  1. You are doing an awesome job! I really am enjoying the peace you are walking in…it makes me feel more peaceful, too. Even the huge problems don’t seem so huge and I can walk away from them and let them go. I love you! Peace, Sistah!

    January 18, 2012 at 7:30 AM

  2. Magpie

    You’re closer to your solutions than you really know…you’re making the journey. I love our talks and seeing your insight into the world. You need to embrace all that is you and realize what a gift you give to others.
    Now…let’s get to a beach somewhere STAT!!!

    January 18, 2012 at 8:17 AM

  3. I totally agree with that last quote – it’s not what happens to us, it’s how we react to it and that is exactly how I try to live my life too. I am going to have to get that app, it sounds fabulous! Wonderful post! I love and miss you lots! xxoo 🙂

    January 18, 2012 at 10:11 AM

  4. Nat

    You’ve always given me the vibe that you are pretty relaxed and at peace 🙂
    Hope you have/had a wonderful birthday!

    January 18, 2012 at 2:31 PM

  5. How exciting for you!!! I’m the same way. I’m a Buddhist at heart and constantly work at letting things roll off my back. Since I’ve started blogging….and gardening….and photography…..I have found an inner balance that has allowed me to search from within….and I also think writing has made vast improvements. My friend told me this once about writing…..but I discovered that photography also has the same effect. What a wonderful promise to yourself…..that pic is really interesting. It’s almost impressionistic. All my best:)

    January 18, 2012 at 4:29 PM

  6. Yeah, I’m an hysteric, not an easy-going type. If you learn the answer, let me know!

    I think I see Topaz. ???

    January 18, 2012 at 4:56 PM

  7. Sound like you are well on your way. I find 50 to be very liberating. I am trying to walk the same path as you. I am feeling it’s time for a trip to Sedona.

    January 18, 2012 at 7:13 PM

  8. Wonderful! 🙂

    January 19, 2012 at 9:38 AM

  9. there are some things you dont let flow…it is a matter of choosing….and sounds like a really cool turn in your life…suggest ‘being peace’ by thich than…great book…and cool hit on jefferson bethke….had not heard that one prior…

    January 20, 2012 at 6:23 PM

  10. I’ve kind of always been one of those people who let things roll off of them … sure has made life easier. Love this photo!

    January 23, 2012 at 8:59 PM