Share it with friends

Flowers Everywhere

Whew, there really isn’t much going on around here – I guess because of the Thanksgiving holiday coming up ALREADY. The weather is beautiful, and we even had some glorious clouds this weekend. The most exciting thing I could find going on was a remote-controlled boat race. Any of you who have been around me for very long know how much I like boats, but this was purely pathetic – just a few old guys and their little dinghys sailing around a lake even I could swim across. So, that was a short trip and as I got home I was reminded about one of the resolutions I haven’t kept this year which was to try to shoot more macros and flowers. Since the year is almost over I decided to walk around the side of the house and see if my rose bush was blooming.

This was more challenging than usual because I had a fairly new camera and a new lens that for some reason has turned out to be a bugger to work with. I can’t decide if I don’t like doing macros because I suck at it or if I suck at doing macros because I can’t do them. Anyway, here’s the same rose with the soft focus filter. I really love the filter which is kind of odd because I wouldn’t describe myself as “soft” (unless we’re talking about my mid-section!), but I guess there’s nothing wrong with trying to kick your way out of the box sometimes.

For what it’s worth, here are two sharp flowers and one fuzzy flower to start your Thanksgiving week. I guess I better keep practicing. (Advice is always appreciated!)

9 responses

  1. I think your flower pictures are quite nice. Especially this pink rose. That’s actually growing at your house? It might be fun to crop one of the pictures a little tighter and see what the result is.

    I loved your comment about old guys and their little dinghys. But don’t get me started on that subject.

    November 21, 2011 at 4:09 AM

  2. Magpie

    Tracy, what are you talking about? These are wonderful. I love the color of that rose. I would have bouquets in the house all the time.
    We need to get together and head somewhere to get some pictures. I’m running out very quickly.

    November 21, 2011 at 7:36 AM

  3. Such good and “well behaved” models: just keep trying and look at your settings once you find a picture you like and repeat…

    November 21, 2011 at 7:51 AM

  4. I can offer no helpful advice about macros. Sometimes mine come out and sometimes they don’t. However, yours are beautiful and I particularly like the very first one (sharp image in front, blurry background).

    November 21, 2011 at 12:21 PM

  5. Wow, your roses look very happy! I love your macros. The only macros I can manage with my camera are not really macros…I just step back about five paces and zoom in. 🙂

    November 21, 2011 at 12:47 PM

  6. MB

    Is that a Rose or Camelia? Very pretty but best without the soft focus. I hope your camera gets better. It is the camera and NOT you. LOL MB

    November 21, 2011 at 7:24 PM

  7. I think these are amazing. I have no filters so I couldn’t give advice.

    November 21, 2011 at 8:42 PM

  8. Nat

    Very nice photos… I don’t have a filter but I can say I struggled to get used to my macro – I find it’s best not to get tooo close to the subject else it blurs!

    November 22, 2011 at 9:10 AM

  9. the blurry one or cloudy actually accentuates its softness a bit giving it adreamy quality…they are lovely flowers….i hope that you have a great thanksgiving

    November 22, 2011 at 1:27 PM