Share it with friends

‘Tis The Season

Here we see a cactus, a tree and some mistletoe fighting for a small spot of desert land.  Contrary to popular belief, mistletoe is actually a parasitic plant and can kill trees that are heavily infested with it.

Wikipedia only has this to say about the custom of kissing under the mistletoe:

According to ancient Christmas custom, a man and a woman who meet under a hanging of mistletoe were obliged to kiss. The custom may be of Scandinavian origin. It was described in 1820 by American author Washington Irving in his “The Sketch Book of Geoffrey Crayon”:

“The mistletoe is still hung up in farm-houses and kitchens at Christmas, and the young men have the privilege of kissing the girls under it, plucking each time a berry from the bush. When the berries are all plucked the privilege ceases.”
7 responses

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a tree hugging a saguaro.

    November 16, 2011 at 4:03 AM

  2. HAHAHAHA! Oh, my. That second one is sort of open to interpretation, isn’t it?

    Mistletoe being a parasitic tree murderer…it seems to me that the last thing I would want is for someone to kiss me under it! This totally changed my perspective on THAT custom! :0)

    November 16, 2011 at 7:23 AM

  3. somehow kissing under a parasite just does not sound nearly as romantic…smiles…

    November 16, 2011 at 7:46 AM

  4. Magpie

    I’m in total shock! I thought Brian would have kissed under an atomic weapon, romantic that he is. 🙂

    I still love mistletoe and hang some up every year. Any port in a storm.

    November 16, 2011 at 8:57 AM

  5. Parasite or not, I’m happy to gaze upon the desert plant life and that gorgeous clear blue sky.

    November 16, 2011 at 12:05 PM

  6. I didn’t know mistletoe was a parasite. Doesn’t matter to me; stand under it…get kissed.

    November 16, 2011 at 4:16 PM

  7. Wonderful find!

    November 16, 2011 at 9:06 PM