Share it with friends

Fall Colors #2


“There are many paths to enlightenment. Be sure to take one with a heart.” ~ Lao Tzu

I reckon it’s been 25 years or so since I visited home during Fall so I hope you will forgive me while I indulge myself a little.

I had forgotten what a leaf sounds like when it hits the ground, had not heard the crunch of them under foot nor remembered what a hundred yellow, red and orange leaves floating on the wind looked like. On this day we traveled to a State Park and hiked the trails. It was quite literally very spiritual for me.

What an amazing time of year Fall is – when dead and dying are so beautiful and embraced eagerly with smiles.

9 responses

  1. Such a beautiful path. I keep hoping for a picture like this someday. But the trees aren’t dying. They’re just going into hibernation for the winter!

    November 13, 2011 at 5:47 AM

  2. This is beautiful. 🙂

    November 13, 2011 at 6:00 AM

  3. Magpie

    This is a gorgeous shot, Tracy!
    I love all the things you described about fall and the leaves. I noticed while we were in Prescott, that I also miss the smell of fall. The leaves themselves and fireplaces burning…take me home country roads.

    November 13, 2011 at 8:44 AM

  4. Nat

    You’ve captured the essence of autumn by word and picture 🙂

    November 13, 2011 at 2:28 PM

  5. hey that looks like my yard…smiles….i love the colors and crunch of fall…

    November 13, 2011 at 5:01 PM

  6. There’s a certain smell of leaves in fall that I would definitely miss. That looks like a beautiful walk.

    November 13, 2011 at 5:08 PM

  7. I want to stand in that spot!

    November 13, 2011 at 9:32 PM

  8. You certainly captured a beautiful day.

    November 14, 2011 at 2:49 PM

  9. Your description is so accurate.
    Such an inviting picture!

    November 19, 2011 at 5:15 AM