Share it with friends

How Now Brown Cow Update (or This Post Has No Pictures)

Hello, everyone! What a fun and clever bunch of peeps you are. Thank you for your Funky Monkey comments in the previous post. The Internet is truly a weird and wonderful place – mostly wonderful, sometimes weird. I’m very happy with the peeps in my corner of it.

I wanted to update you on the Brown Cow incident. First, I would like to clarify that I was not laughing at the tragic death of the cow. I think it was the way the story was written that elicited my response. Mostly.

Secondly, I am happy to report that the city council has enacted a cattle roaming law which will hopefully mostly maybe eliminate tragic events such as this.

After four months of wrangling, Goodyear has finally rustled up an ordinance to control wayward cattle.

The City Council voted Monday to approve a law that makes ranchers liable for cows that wander north of Patterson Road.

The council decided that ranchers south of Patterson in the annexed Mobile community will not have to abide by the ordinance because the area is too rural. (Emphasis mine.)

Anyhoo, the law makes perfect sense even though the mayor commented “I don’t know how you can divide the city and what cows are legal and what cows are not legal.”  If you hit a cow north of Patterson Road it is an illegal cow. If you hit one South of Patterson Road the cow is legal. What’s not to know?

Anyone want to open a Home For Wayward Cattle?

3 responses

  1. I was losing sleep over this, worrying about the surviving cattle in the area, so I’m glad to see Arizona is right on the ball here and they are all relatively safe…at least from getting run down by speeding cars. I’m not sure I would consider this law, which clearly take away a cow’s right to euthanasia (I believe that the brown cow was probably sick and his friend was just trying to let him go on his own terms), when the alternative is what it is.

    October 28, 2011 at 7:57 AM

  2. Magpie

    Oh, I can see this taking a turn for the macabre, but what a fun direction to head in. 🙂 I’m glad to see that you’re keeping up on local politics while you’re out of town. Now I just need to have a smoothie in my hand when I read your blog and it will be just like you were here.

    October 28, 2011 at 9:32 AM

  3. There’s alot of empty space up here!

    October 28, 2011 at 8:44 PM