Share it with friends

How Now Brown Cow

Watch For Cows

This is not a funny story. In fact, it is rather tragic – both for the cow and the human. That didn’t stop me from cracking up when I read the first few paragraphs though.

A recent car accident resulting in the death of a cow has finally convinced the Goodyear City Council to take action on a large-animal ordinance that has been postponed since July.

The crash occurred about 6 a.m. Oct. 5 about two miles south of Queen Creek Road, said Paul Marzocca, a Goodyear police commander.

The motorist, Derek Knowlton, told officers that while he was driving in the area, he spotted a white cow in the roadway and swerved to miss the animal.

However, Knowlton did not see a brown cow standing next to the white cow and struck and killed the brown animal.

Why does it take a tragedy like this to moove someone to fix a problem?

7 responses

  1. Cows on the road can be a big danger. Whenever we see that here it’s slam on the brakes and proceed very slowly with much caution. One day on my way to town I had deer run across the road in front of me on two separate occasions and then a black cow (thank goodness it wasn’t nighttime) suddenly appearing in the middle of the road in the other lane as I rounded a curve, all within a stretch of about four miles!

    October 25, 2011 at 5:15 AM

  2. Here on Long Island we have a problem with deer and roads. I believe drivers here are more to blame than the animals.
    I have a modular home. The driver who delivered the house from Pennsylvania told me he was once in an accident on Long Island while delivering a home. His truck was hit by a woman. The lady stated she didn’t see him. He yelled, you didn’t see me! I’m as big as a house….
    True story… not my house.
    Will there be a shortage of chocolate milk now?

    October 25, 2011 at 9:02 AM

  3. Magpie

    I’m sorry…this was a moment that will stay with me for quite some time…your very wry sense of humor…”How now, Brown Cow?”. You crack me up!!!

    October 25, 2011 at 10:25 AM

  4. oh groan…you are punny today…smiles. almost hit a cow a month or so back….came around the corner and when he saw me he took off running…and i stood on the break….i know i had to be an inch from his posterior at one point….crazy scary way to get a milk shake you know…smiles.

    October 25, 2011 at 10:26 AM

  5. Gosh, what a story! Cute picture and title. πŸ™‚

    October 26, 2011 at 5:34 PM

  6. Poor cow! 😦

    October 26, 2011 at 7:18 PM

  7. Anonymous

    That’s terrible! Having grown up in dairy country, it’s amazing how often this happens. I’m curious what the “large animal ordinance” is, though. In my experience cows are fairly indifferent to the legality of their presence on the road.

    October 26, 2011 at 8:37 PM