Share it with friends

The Palms Cafe

I wonder what you think of when you hear the word ‘cafe”? For me, a cafe was a “coffee shop”. My Father used to meet his friends there every morning before work where he would catch up on the town gossip. On Saturday mornings I got to go with him and have a soda and play the pinball machine. The waitress knew my name. Dad always gave me a nickel to put in the jukebox, and I almost always walked out of there with some piece of candy.

Magpie says she remembers this place as a bar when she was in high school. Not that she ever frequented it or anything πŸ™‚

7 responses

  1. I think of cafe as a small restaurant, usually in a more rural setting, where folks gather to have a good meal and chew the fat!

    October 19, 2011 at 2:43 AM

  2. I agree, a Cafe was always a coffee shop. A non-chain version of Starbucks.

    October 19, 2011 at 4:20 AM

  3. Is this in Peoria? Nice shot btw.

    October 19, 2011 at 7:18 PM

  4. cafe kinda is synonymous with diner…looks like a cool place to pop into…esp if they had a jukebox.

    October 19, 2011 at 8:40 PM

  5. I picture a coffee shop for the word cafe. I am mesmerized by the glass blocks in the first shot. πŸ™‚

    October 20, 2011 at 6:34 AM

  6. i’ve always thought of a cafe as a coffee shop, too… or just a very small lil diner…

    love your edits

    happy week

    October 20, 2011 at 8:04 AM

  7. Magpie

    You did such a great job on these two shots, Tracy. I’m glad I didn’t try any…they would have been sorely lacking. I guess we should have gotten a picture of the other bar in town…The Alibi. But it doesn’t look the same as it did back in the 70’s.

    October 21, 2011 at 8:31 AM