Share it with friends

Ten Years Ago Today….

It was just another day. On September 7, 2001, Ryan Adams began filming a music video with the twin towers in the background for the song “New York, New York” from his upcoming album Gold which was to be released on September 11th. It marked an otherwise insignificant day, one on which few of us can remember what happened and why. Little did we know that everything was about to change.

Click HERE to see the video. It’s now a part of pop culture, but it’s become a bit of a tradition with me to watch this video every September 7th. It helps serve to remind me that it is NEVER just another day.

8 responses

  1. My knowledge of modern music after the 1980s is practically nonexistent so this was a revelation to me. Thanks for heightening my awareness!

    September 7, 2011 at 5:02 AM

  2. Thank you for posting this, Tracy; I hadn’t seen it. And you are so right that it is never just another day!

    September 7, 2011 at 5:35 AM

  3. This is so awesome. I still cannot get through these few days without tears.

    September 7, 2011 at 10:53 AM

  4. Nancy

    Good thoughts here, Tracy. The 7th is my baby boy’s birthday too…so much happens in the first two weeks of September for our family. The 11th is our anniversary. I’ll try and give the video a look…you know how my connection works…or rather doesn’t. 🙂

    September 8, 2011 at 12:21 PM

  5. mm…thanks for the vid…just posted my 9/11 story the other day…i was in the air…def a chilly day of remembrance….

    September 9, 2011 at 8:26 PM

  6. Beautiful, thought provoking post Tracy.

    September 11, 2011 at 6:34 AM

  7. That’s fascinating. I never knew that, actually. Thanks for sharing it.

    September 13, 2011 at 4:34 AM

  8. wOw

    September 13, 2011 at 7:21 PM