Share it with friends

Wouldn’t You Like To Be A Pepper, Too?

One of the reasons we travel to the Midwest this time of year is because my husband wants to celebrate his birthday with his family. Yesterday he turned 50, and quite a celebration it was. As an added benefit, we are able enjoy the fresh vegetables from the gardens here, especially the tomatoes and sweet corn which are especially good this time of year. Usually. However, the heavy rains this spring have made the tomatoes and the sweet corn scarce. My sister in law did manage to bring a few bell peppers from her garden. They were small and so cute, but they packed a big flavor.

As you probably know, it’s been hot and humid here. This desert rat isn’t used to the humidity. Even so, I am in no hurry to go. There is something about “home” that never changes. That’s just the way I like it.

9 responses

  1. Those are some good-looking peppers. We’ve had just the opposite problem. No rain! Therefore the tomatoes have all dried up or rotted on the vine. If it hadn’t have been for the farmers market and a friend who brought us two big batches of tomatoes, the eight plants I put out would have hardly yielded enough for tomato soup! I quit watering them two weeks ago because some of them never got any bigger than an egg, even though they had been watered and fertilized regularly.

    July 24, 2011 at 12:34 PM

  2. MB

    Lovely shot of the green Peppers and what looks like a red apple? Anyway—yummy!!
    We had a record setting wet and cold spring and June also but finally settling down to at least over 70 degree weather. That is quite warm here. Supposed to be 76 here today. Where is the AC—hahaha!!!

    MB

    July 24, 2011 at 12:44 PM

  3. Nancy

    I’m glad you guys are having such a good time, but then we all knew you would. That’s a family that knows how to enjoy each other and have a good time. Relax and enjoy and drink in all those memories.

    July 25, 2011 at 7:23 AM

  4. nice…love a little pepper, tend to like mine hot…but not like this hot weather…ugh…over 100 for four days…cold front today at 98…

    July 25, 2011 at 9:52 AM

  5. The peppers are gorgeous! My hubby’s from the Midwest also. It must be beautiful and green there with all the rain. Enjoy!

    July 25, 2011 at 11:36 AM

  6. I’d like a few peppers too!! I was just home too and it’s always nice to see the family!! Hugs to you and Bill!! I love you! xxoo πŸ™‚

    July 26, 2011 at 4:20 PM

  7. Great shot! I hope your enjoying your trip. Happy 50th to your husband. He was born in a great year, like me!

    July 26, 2011 at 9:00 PM

  8. MMmmm… those do look delicious! My pepper plants finally gave up the fight, too cold and rainy here in Seattle…our summer failed to launch this year!

    July 27, 2011 at 8:45 AM

  9. It reminds me of the tune from Sesame Street: “One of these things is not like the others…”
    It has been an obscenely cold and wet spring and summer for us here, too. I’m amazed I have tomatoes at all– but I just realized they’ve been green for an awfully long time, and I’m thinking maybe they’ll be staying that way.

    July 28, 2011 at 7:15 AM