Share it with friends

A Monster Unleashed

My latest inspiration comes from Tricia at Bluff Area Daily. Recently I visited her blog and found she had done some amazing things with photos that turned out looking just like paintings. I sat right out to Google this technique to find out how it was done (I love The Google!). One thing you should know is that I have resisted shelling out the $$ for Photoshop so my goal was to replicate this technique using Open Source software available for free on the Internet. I also got a little friendly advice from Tricia. I picked out one of my favorite photos and this is what I ended up with. This came out kind of “paint by numbers” like. Looks like I have some experimenting to do!

Here is the original photo that I had taken below.

Thanks, Tricia, for the inspiration! Please check out her Barn Charm theme when you get a chance.

ADDENDUM: Kathy reminded me I forgot to mention the software I use to edit my photos. Most of the time I use Picnik (h/t to Kathy). I also use an open source software called GIMP which is very similar to Photoshop (so I have been told) but FREE!

10 responses

  1. Awww Tracy, you’re too kind… thank you sooo much! This is gorgeous! I love the boat & the reflection. Both versions are wonderful & I really love the perspective… I have a lot to learn about this whole process, but I find that the perspective is the biggest lesson I need to work on!

    Thanks again… You Rock! =)

    July 14, 2011 at 6:21 AM

  2. Well, aren’t you going to tell what software you used and the technique? I guess you want to keep it all a secret so your pictures will be better than ours. Oh, I get it. You did the research so we should do it too! Okay, here I come Google. Oh, and by the way, your pictures are always nice to start with!

    July 14, 2011 at 6:22 AM

  3. PS You mentioned textures… Keep experimenting w/ them! =)

    July 14, 2011 at 6:24 AM

  4. I love both of these! I tend to like the poster-ish look, especially of boats and things with a lot of dark, rich colors. But your original photo is also awesome! I think you should mat them both and put them on opposite walls, with smaller boat prints around them. :0)

    July 14, 2011 at 9:31 AM

  5. Both are gorgeous, the one that looks like a painting and the original. I can’t imagine how they could be any better except maybe to put them up on a wall!

    July 14, 2011 at 1:17 PM

  6. Nancy

    See! This is what I tell you all the time. You’re amazing and your mind is always looking to learn or try something new. That’s what keeps you young, Sweetie! Both are wonderful…will you print the painting one?

    July 14, 2011 at 8:31 PM

  7. nice..it makes the colors pop…like the relfection, crisp…

    July 15, 2011 at 6:34 AM

  8. I love this effect, the result is beautiful. You’ve really got me to thinking this morning. I desperately need a new laptop before mine gives out completely. I’ve been toying with the idea of making the huge leap to Apple’s Mac. The people I know who use them can’t stop saying enough good things about them. One huge drawback is that the photo editing software I use, Corel Paintshop Pro is not made for Mac (hard to believe but true). I’ve been dreading learning a whole new photo editing software especially since I’ve only scratched the surface of what Paintshop Pro can do. Now you’ve given me a whole new perspective on options. I’m now off to Google to do some checking on GIMP and Picnik. Thanks very much for the tip! I’m already feeling better about the decision to join the Apple cult!
    By the way, the walls in the restaurant on my site today are painted with giant lilies. Those aren’t really eyes!

    July 15, 2011 at 8:00 AM

  9. That is awesome. I am going to have to research this product.

    July 15, 2011 at 8:00 PM

  10. I think they both are great! xxoo πŸ™‚

    July 15, 2011 at 9:54 PM