Share it with friends

God Bless America

Having just celebrated the quintessential American holiday with all things “USA! USA!” I couldn’t resist trying out this Watermelon Martini recipe when I came across it. I am pleased to say that it now carries the much coveted Magpie Seal of Approval.Β  I can almost guarantee you will feel like a “jolly rancher” after a couple of them. But why stop at two?

  • salt as needed
  • white sugar as needed
  • 1 cup watermelon juice
  • 1/4 cup vodka
  • 1/4 cup watermelon schnapps
  • 2 tablespoons simple syrup
  • 1 lime, juiced
  1. Combine some salt and sugar in a small bowl, and pour onto a small, shallow plate. Moisten the rims of 2 glasses with a piece of watermelon, and dip the moistened glass rims into the salt and sugar mixture; set aside.
  2. Pour the watermelon juice, vodka, watermelon schnapps, simple syrup, and lime juice into a cocktail shaker over ice. Cover, and shake until the outside of the shaker has frosted. Strain into the prepared glasses.
11 responses

  1. I think I feel a business meeting coming on…

    July 6, 2011 at 10:07 AM

  2. oo la la…you must have seen me chastise magpie for not sharing…smiles.

    July 6, 2011 at 1:18 PM

  3. YUMMY!!!!!

    I shall take the recipe to The Splitz in Ritz—ville, that is—HA!
    MB

    July 6, 2011 at 3:12 PM

  4. It looks very refreshing and makes an interesting shadow!

    July 6, 2011 at 6:50 PM

  5. Ok next time I am in town I will have to hang out with you and Maggie!

    July 6, 2011 at 8:15 PM

  6. Nat

    Mmmmm… watermmmmmelon πŸ™‚

    July 7, 2011 at 1:28 AM

  7. Nancy

    Okay…now Randy will be able to make them himself. πŸ™‚
    I can’t tell you just how delicious these (yes, these) were! It’s the kind of drink that just might sneak up on you and kiss you goodnight. πŸ™‚

    July 7, 2011 at 7:13 AM

  8. Nancy

    PS: I did forget about Brian….now how could I do that??

    July 7, 2011 at 7:15 AM

  9. Hmm… it’s after ten o’clock. Do you think it’s too early for one of these? It DOES have fruit in it!

    July 7, 2011 at 10:10 AM

  10. Ooh, watermelon martinis! I love watermelon, and martinis, so i can imagine the two go very nicely together!! But perhaps this summer isn’t the time to sample them (as much as I would like to!)?! I’m going to save this recipe for next summer, when I can martini myself right up!! x

    ps: thank you for your wonderful blog comments of late!

    July 8, 2011 at 12:17 PM

  11. I’m a little woozie just reading the recipe! And how many drinks does one recipe make?

    July 11, 2011 at 4:20 AM