Share it with friends

Jerome By Any Other Name (would still be steep)

I am not really a fan of Jerome . The town itself is charming – filled with bed and breakfasts,  restaurants and shops and spectacular views. It’s just that my vertigo and claustrophobia always get the better of me. Called “America’s Most Vertical City”, its elevation is 5,000 feet, and it can only be reached by driving up winding roads with high mountains on one side and steep drop offs on the other. While wandering the streets of Jerome I feel like I am walking in the Funny House at the carnival. You know the one where the floor is tilted?

Jerome became a notorious “wild west” town, a hotbed of prostitution, gambling, and vice. On February 5, 1903, the New York Sun proclaimed Jerome to be “the wickedest town in the West”.

The historic copper mining town of Jerome has also been called the “Largest Ghost Town in America”. It’s population peaked at 15,000 in the 1920’s, but after World War II the demand for copper slowed, and the Phelps Dodge mine closed in 1953. In 1967 Jerome was designated a National Historic District by the federal government. Today Jerome is a thriving tourist and artist community with a population of about 450.

10 responses

  1. When I moved to Flagstaff from Texas in 1972 Jerome had a population of 7! We loved to take visiting friends over for dinner at the House of Joy and walking through the deserted streets. I think I need to return there on my upcoming visit.

    June 9, 2011 at 4:13 AM

  2. Nancy

    Tracy, I’ll drive and you can just lay down in the back seat and take a nap or a Valium or glass of wine or both. 🙂 We do need to take Kathy here and visit Judy at the same time!

    June 9, 2011 at 10:25 AM

  3. I’ve never been there before but it sure does look fascinating!

    June 9, 2011 at 10:33 AM

  4. It sounds like a fascinating place! xxoo 🙂

    June 9, 2011 at 10:35 AM

  5. wow talk about attrition…interesting place…art community huh?

    June 9, 2011 at 11:17 AM

  6. I love Jerome mostly for the shopping.

    June 9, 2011 at 7:23 PM

  7. hope you are having a great weekend!

    June 12, 2011 at 5:52 AM

  8. I wanna go… maybe I can catch some ghosts! LoL! =)

    June 12, 2011 at 11:16 AM

  9. I know what you mean about vertigo– I’m sensitive to that, too. I think I’d have to risk it, though, to visit this place!

    June 13, 2011 at 8:38 AM

  10. Sounds very much like a town I would love to visit. Luckily, I don’t suffer from vertigo.

    June 15, 2011 at 7:57 AM