Share it with friends

Vaughn’s Food Store

I can still remember a time before Wal-Mart came tromping into town when there were neighborhood grocers that were owned by local townsfolk. This was the first one I remember. It was within walking distance of my first house and though I can’t remember much of life at 5 years, I do vaguely recall walking to it with my big sister on a summer day and stopping to pick an apple off a tree along the way. Or going grocery shopping with my Mom and pausing to chat with Mr. or Mrs. Vaughn as we wandered through the aisles. My sister (who must have been 8 or 9 at the time) once had her picture taken and put on the front page of the paper while shopping for the Easter ham at the meat counter – or something like that.  It was an IGA for a while, but mostly we just knew it as Vaughn’s.

Ramblin’ Kathy got me to thinking about it with her post on Rexall drugstores and her emerging “Rustique” genre of photography.

9 responses

  1. Those days are gone forever, I think, except perhaps in very small rural or resort areas. Thanks for stopping by my blog today!

    May 19, 2011 at 6:23 AM

  2. Nancy

    See how these things catch on. Rustique – it’s on its way to becoming a household word.
    Yes, I remember a sweet little neighborhood grocery store named Copeland’s Market. Loved that little store. Of course, it didn’t hurt that my aunt and uncle owned it and we had free rein of the place. 🙂

    May 19, 2011 at 7:37 AM

  3. I remember those lil stores, too, & walking down the alley behind g’mas to get there w/ my older cousin or my aunt on ol hot summer days… those were the days! =)

    I thought I had a frame like that in my editing program, but I can’t find it… did you get it somewhere specifically or did it come w/ your editing program? I really like it! =)

    May 19, 2011 at 10:19 AM

  4. nice…you spun some great memories for me…one grandfather owned a grocery and the other a seed store…what cool places…

    May 19, 2011 at 3:36 PM

  5. Oh wow, what great memories you have! I can’t remember the name of our neighborhood grocer but there was a Rexall next to a fun kiddyland with pony rides called Beverly Park.

    May 19, 2011 at 5:50 PM

  6. Wow these are great!

    May 19, 2011 at 9:13 PM

  7. Great and sad at the same time. Our local Thrifty Foods left a few years ago but thank goodness we voted out a Walmart, but since it doesn’t take long to get to a mall or bigger store people still drive away. Myself included but I try to buy in my town. MB

    May 20, 2011 at 7:17 AM

  8. So sad… it makes for good photos, though! My life has gone in the opposite direction– I grew up in LA, where everything was a big chain store, and moved to Bellingham where the independent retailers still (almost) always reign. Hopefully things will start swinging back in that direction again for the rest of the country.

    May 20, 2011 at 8:12 AM

  9. Thanks for promulgating my new word “rustique.” I think I should copyright it! LOL! This definitely fits with my definition. I hereby proclaim you to be a “rustiquette.”

    May 21, 2011 at 6:36 PM