Share it with friends

Wine/Know

I don’t want to give anybody the idea I’m a lush, BUT if it’s for a good cause I am willing to sacrifice my reputation.

Magpie and I attended a wine tasting and silent auction on Saturday night to benefit a local school. Magpie found not only one but TWO wines she enjoyed and gave a third one a halfย  a thumb up. In fact, one of the lucky wines she deemed worthy enough to buy the entire BOTTLE. I’m pretty sure we’ll be ringing in the New Year with it. (I kid Magpie. She is a good sport, and it’s good for her to think outside the box(-o-wine) sometimes.)

Seriously, though, we had a delightful time. I’m just wondering what kind of genie is coming out of that bottle once it’s uncorked. ๐Ÿ™‚

9 responses

  1. No way could I buy a bottle of wine in May and say I’ll save it till New Year’s!

    May 9, 2011 at 3:24 AM

  2. Yea, I agree with Kathy…never could I buy a bottle of wine in May and keep in till December 31. If New York didn’t have drinking and driving laws, I might be tempted to sample them on the drive home from the liquor store!

    May 9, 2011 at 3:46 AM

  3. Kathy’s right.
    Happy New Year today.
    Wine tastings are fun. I say that even though I have only been to one. MB

    May 9, 2011 at 3:46 AM

  4. Cousin Kathy

    Now, you two! New year’s is way too far away to hold onto a wine that is obviously primo! I say, pretend that this Friday is New Year’s Eve, and throw a New Year’s Eve party! That would be my advice! HAPPY NEW YEAR! Hiccup. xxoo

    May 9, 2011 at 5:39 AM

  5. Wine tasting for a good cause sounds like fun!

    May 9, 2011 at 6:54 AM

  6. What a great idea for a fundraiser! Something tells me that’s one school fundraiser I would enjoy going to.

    May 9, 2011 at 8:15 AM

  7. Nancy

    We had a blast! We always do when we get together though. But this was an especially fun night…could have been the wine or the cheese board we sampled…no, I’m sure it was the company. And, alas, the wine bottle got opened on Sunday. I couldn’t finish it, of course. So I’m sure I’ll be off to Tracy’s one day this week to sit by the pool and sip a little vino.

    May 9, 2011 at 8:52 AM

  8. That definitely sounds like a fun fundraiser that’s for sure!! Crack that baby open right now, it’s new years somewhere, right? haha…xxoo ๐Ÿ™‚

    May 9, 2011 at 10:10 AM

  9. mmm hmm…dont i remember you saying you all stayed OUT of trouble…haha…nice…i do like a good reisling on occassion

    May 10, 2011 at 9:45 AM