Share it with friends

Truffle – hunting Javelinas

It may be a blatant rip off of the Cow Parade, but Sedona’s Javelinas on Parade is just another one of a series of beautifully decorated animal statues all decked out for charitable causes. The event was launched in October of 2006 . The Javelinas on Parade are to be on display throughout the Sedona area and then sold at auction. Proceeds from the auction will be used to support the participating artists, to fund arts programming and scholarships through the Sedona Arts Festival and for marketing of the Arts through the Chamber of Commerce Tourism Bureau.

Several of the javelinas were on display at the Los Abrigados Resort & Spa. They were sculpted by Helen R. Brown in 2005 and then decorated by local artists. The Truffle – hunting Javelinas (see the beret?) pictured above are the work of Cynthia Reid and sponsored by Lanning Gallery. I’ll be showing more of these in the coming weeks.

7 responses

  1. Awesome!

    April 20, 2011 at 5:59 AM

  2. Nancy

    I’m not sure that’s appropriate camouflage for truffle hunting, but gorgeous just the same.

    April 20, 2011 at 8:41 AM

  3. I like the looks of these pigs much better than the feral ones around here!

    April 20, 2011 at 8:46 AM

  4. Isn’t there one by the Sedona Brewing Company? I love these.

    April 20, 2011 at 5:59 PM

  5. Those are so cute!

    April 21, 2011 at 8:27 AM

  6. these are really cool….we had crabs in MD…when we lived in NC they had wolves…these are really cool!

    April 21, 2011 at 7:43 PM

  7. I love ’em. Seattle has her Pigs—-a relative I believe.

    Yes it snowed here but no where else. I live just in the foothills at the snow line and get more snow than I want or need. Not as much as you pictured on your blog the other day though.
    I left for the day and now I came back. MB

    April 21, 2011 at 9:05 PM