Share it with friends

No Bad Dogs

This is Miss Sadie and her new hat. It is not her favorite hat, that’s for sure. This past Monday while we were taking our morning walk two pit bulls got out of their fenced yard and decided to make her acquaintance. As frightening as it was, it could have been much, much worse. Fortunately, the dogs were not mean. They had no interest in me or in hurting Sadie, but pit bulls are by nature aggressive dogs, and even though they seemed to be more interested in getting to know her than having her for breakfast, she ended up with a small puncture wound that I wasn’t even aware of until she started limping late that night. A visit to the vet revealed the wound and an abscess, and she has to have the drain in her leg and wear the E collar until tomorrow.

I am a dog lover. I’ve grown up with dogs and my husband and I have had dogs for the 31 years we have been married, but I am convinced now more than ever that pit bulls do not make good pets just because of this very reason. I know this was an accident. I also know if the dogs HAD intended to do Sadie harm she or even I might not be here today. I don’t hate the dogs. I don’t even hate the owner (who was very upset about what happened). It was just an unfortunate accident that didn’t need to occur if someone had been more careful.

I’m not here to preach. Sorry. I’m on edge about everything going on in the world lately. This hasn’t helped. I think I was more traumatized by the event than Sadie. Most things I can shrug off, but I am having a hard time shaking this. I was mugged once, and I felt the same way. Keep looking for a little happiness in a world so full of misery…that’s all we can do.

BTW, for those of you who know Magpie, I found out today she had fallen and hurt her ankle and was in the ER when I called. Hopefully it’s just a sprain.

8 responses

  1. Glad Sadie and you are ok! Did you give the owners your vet bill? Poor Magpie – I hope it’s only a sprain too!! I love you! xxoo πŸ™‚

    March 17, 2011 at 3:19 PM

  2. Nancy

    Poor Sadie! I’m glad she’s doing better and that she has people who love her and take such good care of her. I know you must have been shaken up. The adrenaline gets to pumping and then coming down off of that is hard. You have a wonderful attitude about it all. That next walk will be a hard one.
    Sadly…it’s not just a sprain. I broke it this time. This will really put a crimp in our photo trips. 😦

    March 17, 2011 at 3:53 PM

  3. Yes, that’s a traumatic experience for you and Sweet Sadie. Yes, you two were lucky and, frankly, I think you have a pretty good attitude about it so no apologies are necessary as far as I’m concerned. I was attacked by a “friend’s” dog a few years back, someone who got very upset with me when the hospital, by law, had to report her dog to Animal Control and who very conveniently never spoke to me again, I suppose because she thought I was going to ask her to pay my medical bills (which I wasn’t – my insurance covered it all). That’s why I put “friend” in quotes! So take care of that little sweetheart and maybe walk a different route from now on!

    Oh, no, not another lower extremity injury to Magpie. Her feet/legs have been jinxed lately. Give her my best!

    March 17, 2011 at 5:33 PM

  4. Oh dear, so sorry to hear about Sadie’s encounter with the pit bulls and Magpie’s ankle injury!

    March 17, 2011 at 6:17 PM

  5. between you and magpie you are killing me tonight…sorry about the pups…and for the bad thoughts. hope sadie heals soon and you feel more at ease…

    March 17, 2011 at 7:05 PM

  6. Too bad for Sadie and you too. It was a very frightening thing to happen. MB

    March 17, 2011 at 10:32 PM

  7. Nat

    Oh no! This is a dreadful thing to happen! Hope Miss Sadie recovers quickly and you feel better soon too – must have been a huge shock!
    I agree with you on the pit bulls… there are many horrific accidents every year in the UK, and animals have to be destroyed as a consequence of irresponsible owners.

    March 18, 2011 at 2:02 AM

  8. Poor Sadie. I am so greatful that she is ok. Maybe you should paint flowers on her cone. She does after all want to be fashionable.

    March 18, 2011 at 2:07 PM