Share it with friends

Magpie Tale

My “On Again, Off Again” job had been mostly “Off Again” lately. The blessing to the “Off Again” job status is that I get to spend time with Magpie when, just like the good ole days, we’d manage to share all kinds of excellent adventures and misadventures.

On this particular day when Magpie called we didn’t really have any idea what we wanted to do but headed for the 50 Acre Wood, also know as Friendship Park. Before we knew where we were going, I had decided to take my Diana lens. It had been awhile since I had played with it. I considered changing it once we decided we were going to visit the ducks but instead decided to “hang loose like a goose” and go with the flow. One thing Magpie always teaches me, and something I never seem to learn, is that great adventures can happen anytime, anywhere – even in the most common places. This day was no exception. For instance, on this day I learned:

 

We do indeed have Red Winged Blackbirds in Phoenix.

 

There are still a few Disco Ducks around.

 

There are some amazing Duck Tails to be told.

 

There’s a reason why Magpie kept missing the flying ducks in action.

 

Turtles do it. Very. Slow.

 

I also got to see firsthand the lengths that Magpie will go to in order to take those great shots.

 

Here she is on her latest Safari shoot.

Check out Magpie’s blog, In Over My Head, to see just exactly what she was photographing on the Street Light Serengeti.

8 responses

  1. That looks like a fantastic park for taking pictures! I’ve never seen a Red Winged Blackbird in my area. I love the shots of Disco Duck and Magpie on Safari.

    March 11, 2011 at 4:32 AM

  2. It’s a good thing you were along to keep her under control.

    March 11, 2011 at 5:22 AM

  3. hehe….always 2 sides to a story eh? be careful of that turtle by the way…smiles.

    March 11, 2011 at 5:48 AM

  4. Nancy

    Red-winged Blackbirds, ducks, and turtles….oh, my!!!
    Thank goodness your Diana lens blends out all my imperfections. πŸ™‚ We had so much fun!

    March 11, 2011 at 7:50 AM

  5. I love the Red-winged Blackbird. One of my favorites. My eyes are blurry now but I guess it is you not me. LOL
    That magpie always outdoing everyone else. hahaha!! MB

    March 11, 2011 at 8:38 AM

  6. That was quite an adventure. I love that disco duck.

    March 11, 2011 at 8:47 AM

  7. Great pictorial! A lot of hanky panky going on. Must be Spring.

    March 12, 2011 at 1:23 PM

  8. You two must have some amazing times together! Thank you for the birthday wish!

    March 12, 2011 at 8:18 PM