Share it with friends

Windows

Give me hunger,
O you gods that sit and give
The world its orders.
Give me hunger, pain and want,
Shut me out with shame and failure
From your doors of gold and fame,
Give me your shabbiest, weariest hunger!

But leave me a little love,
A voice to speak to me in the day end,
A hand to touch me in the dark room
Breaking the long loneliness.
In the dusk of day-shapes
Blurring the sunset,
One little wandering, western star
Thrust out from the changing shores of shadow.
Let me go to the window,
Watch there the day-shapes of dusk
And wait and know the coming
Of a little love.

~ Carl Sandburg

 

(Yesterday Magpie and I had the most amazing day with friends visiting some historic places west of the city, including what was left of this old Homestead in Tonopah. I’ll be posting more photos later, and I’m sure Magpie will be sharing a few as well.)

8 responses

  1. Nancy

    Tracy, this one is definitely a keeper! I love this shot. You better get it printed. I had such a great time. Thanks so much for the day!

    January 31, 2011 at 8:30 AM

  2. Beautiful shot, and beautiful poem to go with it. I want to go exploring there! Maybe someday… and I’ll know who to call to be my tour guide!

    I have a question– are you still loving Mr. Digital Clover? I’m thinking about getting one.

    January 31, 2011 at 9:17 AM

  3. Kathy

    Not that I needed a reason to cry today, but this made me tear up. Beautiful.

    January 31, 2011 at 9:43 AM

  4. That is so beautiful! I wish I could have joined you! Give cousin and yourself a big hug from me! xxoo 🙂

    January 31, 2011 at 10:11 AM

  5. Magie told me you guys had a photo walkabout. Maybe I’ll return in a few months to join you on one.

    Re window: I think you got a two-fer on this one.

    January 31, 2011 at 4:06 PM

  6. Who is a proofreader? I’m too quick on the “post comment” button. My apologies to Magpie!

    January 31, 2011 at 4:08 PM

  7. What a wonderful post photo and all. Have a wonderful Tuesday!

    January 31, 2011 at 10:02 PM

  8. Great shot. I love the emotions this evokes. MB

    February 1, 2011 at 6:32 AM