Share it with friends

This is my Tuesday – Happiness

Venice Beach Pier

Those of you who have followed me for any length of time know I love the beach.Β  It doesn’t matter where it is or if it is a sunny beach or a cloudy beach. It makes me happy.

Ten years ago my cousin and I took a trip to Venice Beach in California, and we have made it a habit to return every year since then. Some years we went more than others, and lately finances and other obligations have made the trip a real challenge, but this is one of the places where I am truly happy. It’s a short cab ride from LAX, and since the only mode of transportation you need in Venice is your feet, the location is ideal. We stay at the Inn at Venice Beach which is a short walk away from the boardwalk where you can gaze out over the ocean or do some serious people watching and an even shorter walk to the canals where you can wander trough the mazes and pick out your dream home.

Some days you feel like you could literally walk off the end of the earth here when the day wakes up like I do – slowly, under a blanket of fog, with a cup of java in its hand.

Please visit Wendy at her Red Boots blog to see other posts about happiness.

 

16 responses

  1. Magpie

    Tracy, this is a beautiful picture of peace, tranquility and inner reflection…just what the beach is all about to me.

    November 16, 2010 at 9:00 AM

  2. Perfect happiness. I would love it, too. I sure loved reading about it.

    November 16, 2010 at 9:11 AM

  3. Beautiful post – I loved reading it πŸ™‚ x

    November 16, 2010 at 9:19 AM

  4. Awesome photo and story. It makes me really happy when you are at the beach in Venice too! πŸ™‚ I have always been drawn to the beaches having grown up only 30 minutes away from them in Northern California, it’s always been a place for me to go and sit and reflect on my life in good times and in bad! Have a beautiful day!! I love you! xxoo πŸ™‚

    November 16, 2010 at 9:33 AM

  5. The beach is always a great place to be, and it can only make you happy… rain or shine:)

    November 16, 2010 at 12:09 PM

  6. This makes me feel so calm reading this! I’ve been to Venice Beach, a long time ago (about 14 years ago with my parents) and loved it, so it’s nice to be reminded of that trip!

    I love the beach too. But I especially, strangely, love visiting the beach for a walk when it’s bad weather. Especially foggy or windy. It always makes me feel so alive!

    x

    November 16, 2010 at 12:23 PM

  7. Nat

    The beach is probably the place I too find true happiness and relaxation. I plan to spend New Years near the ocean this year, even in the middle of winter it will restore my inner peace…
    Love your photo πŸ™‚

    November 16, 2010 at 12:49 PM

  8. I love beach pictures – especially the ones where there is aittle mist/rain. There is something mysterious yet peaceful when all you see is the pier, but nothing beyond that like you are “floating” in mid-air. Maybe I’m just crazy??

    November 16, 2010 at 12:56 PM

  9. or-so-i-feel

    I too love to be near the water. One of my favorite places is in a little town on the Maine coast and I could literaly sit there for days…..

    November 16, 2010 at 1:10 PM

  10. That is awesome how the pier disappears into the fog. Your yearly trip to Venice sound like fun!

    November 16, 2010 at 1:26 PM

  11. i love venice beach! when we planned to move to los angeles, the mr. and i had the hardest time deciding between venice and echo park. we ultimately chose echo park for some pretty practical reasons, but we’re still planning on moving there at some point in our near future. it reminds us so much of our real home, san francisco, with the fog and interesting characters. maybe when we move we’ll see you there?… πŸ™‚

    November 16, 2010 at 1:42 PM

  12. I love a thick blanket of fog. Makes everything seem so mysterious…

    November 16, 2010 at 8:32 PM

  13. Love the beach too!

    November 17, 2010 at 6:21 AM

  14. I love the quiet stillness of a morning fog. I can almost hear the quiet in this photo.

    November 17, 2010 at 6:51 AM

  15. I love a misty beach, that’s the former Oregonian in me. I’m near a sunny beach all the time and never go, shame on me!

    November 17, 2010 at 7:05 PM

  16. What a great post. It’s amazing to see people out milling around a beach on a cloudy day. Keep doing what you love!

    November 17, 2010 at 7:17 PM