Share it with friends

Shakin’ The Screen

This past Wednesday I met my blogging pals Kathy and Magpie at the Phoenix Desert Botanical Gardens. Magpie and I are family so we see each other quite often, but we had only met Kathy once before and had really hit it off (at least that’s what I think). Saddened by the news that she would be leaving the area at the end of the year we had decided to try to get together again at least once, and this was it.

So, anyway, here I am walking through the Garden, Mr Digital Clover holding my hand, with my two buddies who are most excellent macro photographers whether they realize it or not. My bloomin’ pictures never measure up to theirs. Every photo I take of a flower ends up looking like an ugly splotch of color. I have decided not to even try to keep up with them today.

Once we stepped into the Monarch Butterfly Exhibit we must have spent half an hour or 45 minutes running around taking photos of different butterflies. Or maybe we were just taking pictures of the same two or three – who really knows and what does it matter? There were dozens if not hundreds of butterflies flying around, drifting over your shoulder, stirring just the smallest amount of a breeze – an actual butterfly kiss. And then there were maybe dozens if  not hundreds more hanging on the screen that surrounded the exhibit. You couldn’t look anywhere and not see a butterfly on this day.

Every once in a while someone would shake the screen, and all the butterflies that were hanging on the screen would let go and join the hundreds of others in flight to create the most beautiful whisper of a butterfly storm.

Life is kind of like that. Sometimes we need someone to shake the screen and get our wings moving – someone to make us leave our comfortable place and take flight.

Because friendships should inspire you, not hold you back.

So, thank you, my friends (both winged and human). I am going out to work on my macro shots.

9 responses

  1. Very cool.
    I need my life shaken up and NOW!!
    MB

    November 13, 2010 at 7:22 AM

  2. Love the little butterfly video!

    November 13, 2010 at 7:47 AM

  3. I totally agree that sometimes we need to shake the screen and move our wings, and it’s nice when friends can inspire us to do that.

    Cool butterfly video!

    November 13, 2010 at 10:04 AM

  4. Magpie

    Thanks for “shaking my screen” now and again too.
    Love you, Cuz! I like what you’re doing with Mr. Digi Clover too. I sometimes have trouble deciding what you’re better at – pictures or words. I’ve decided you’re equally brilliant at both.

    November 13, 2010 at 10:54 AM

  5. Oh, yes, you made my day with this fine post. You have a lot of wisdom and I’m always amazed at your quick wit! I think you’re probably an old soul that’s been around for a long time. Please send my thanks to Mr. DC for such a great little butterfly video. It made me smile as I remembered our day.

    November 13, 2010 at 12:54 PM

  6. Wonderful post Tracy. I love that exhibit. We used to go every year. Have a wonderful Sunday.

    November 14, 2010 at 10:11 AM

  7. That’s great you got to meet a blogger! I’ve been wanting to forever. Glad you had a good time!

    November 14, 2010 at 7:40 PM

  8. So cool that ya’ll got to meet up before she left the area! Hope you’re all able to get together again.

    The video is great – I’d love to see all those flutterbys flying around like that… so cool

    November 14, 2010 at 7:46 PM

  9. I’ve told you already how much I love your banner. Right? I do – I love it. It’s perfect.

    November 16, 2010 at 9:14 AM